My first animated GIF

Woman-Writing-Gif

My first attempt at creating an animated GIF!

I’ve been wanting to learn how to make GIFs for a while now. I see them being used by Archives and Libraries to animate their collections all the time on Tumblr, and I wanted to do something similar with the archival materials available at work.

So tonight, I decided to sit down and learn how to do it with one image of a woman writing, and I decided that I wanted to animate her feather pen. So, I Googled how to make a GIF using Photoshop Elements, followed the easy instructions on this online tutorial, and voila, I made a GIF.  It’s super easy to do once you figure out all of the layers in Photoshop Elements and how they work together.

Can’t wait to make more of them soon!

One comment

  1. LOVE it! Good concept and well executed.

Leave a Reply

