Adventures in Sweater Knitting — Or Preserving My Sanity

I was out with a friend a little over a month ago and it was a pretty cold day in February, so I decided that, because I was cold, I needed to knit a sweater. So, we stopped by the local knitting store, and I picked up 8 skeins of yarn and some circular needles so I had the essentials for a sweater project. I chose to knit the Adara sweater by Brooklyn Tweed. It looked simple enough to knit, and featured a beautiful fair isle pattern along the bottom. The sweater that I had attempted to knit before was also a fair isle sweater, but it proved to be a lot more complicated and the cutting the steeks scared me a lot. Thankfully, the Adara sweater did not have this problem.

I also felt that since my previous sweater is still incomplete and it’s been two years now, I thought documenting my progress through photographs would be a good way to keep me motivated. It definitely helped, because here I am now two months later with a finished sweater!

Not only has this project become a very comfy and warm sweater, but it was also a way to keep myself balanced over the last month of school. Knitting has become a way for me to still feel productive even if I am taking time away from my schoolwork. One has to stay balanced–especially when one is reading seven different kind of cultural theory from Freud, Marx, Nietzche, Foucault and such for the core Ph.D. Cultural Mediations course. Knitting is a way for me to relax and turn off my school brain, which is necessary every once in a while.

IMG_0821 IMG_0656 IMG_0690 IMG_0710 IMG_0823 IMG_0972IMG_1062 14705_10203244958278748_7772529021101111517_n

2 comments

  1. Oh my, that it beautiful! I’m going to start my first sweater soon, but I’m going to stick to a basic knnit/garter pattern until I learn the other parts of sweater knitting. 🙂

    1. Thank you! 🙂 Knitting sweaters can certainly be daunting, but they are so much fun! Best of luck on your first sweater project!

Leave a Reply

